Medical Advisors

Orthopedic Trauma

Samir MehtaSamir Mehta, M.D.

Dr. Samir Mehta is Chief, Division of Orthopedic Trauma and Assistant Professor of Orthopedic Surgery at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. A graduate of Northwestern University and Temple University School of Medicine, he completed his internship and orthopedic surgery residency at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, followed by research fellowship at University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine and orthopedic trauma fellowship at Harborview Medical Center, University of Washington. Dr. Mehta has been recognized by the Best Doctors in America, 2009-2010 and 2011-2012. Dr. Mehta conducts research in several domains, having published more than 100 papers ranging on topics from fracture healing, nonunions, health policy, education, clinical care, and quality improvement. Over the years, he has also been awarded numerous grants, including industry grants and two grants from the Department of Defense. Dr. Mehta holds numerous honors and awards, including DeForest Willard Award for Best Graduating Resident, University of Pennsylvania Department of Orthopedic Surgery and ASIA/Synthes Research Award.

Thomas Einhorn Thomas Einhorn, M.D.

Dr. Thomas A. Einhorn is Professor of Orthopedic Surgery at New York University and Director of Clinical and Translational Research Development at NYU Hospital for Joint Diseases. A graduate of Rutgers University and Cornell Medical College, he completed his internship at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, orthopedic residency at St. Luke's - Roosevelt Hospital, and a fellowship at the Hospital for Special Surgery. Dr. Einhorn’s professional interests include research into the role of stem cells in orthopedic surgery, the repair and regeneration of bone and cartilage, reconstructive surgery of the hip and knee, and the treatment of metabolic bone diseases. He has served as Chairman of the Orthopedics and Musculoskeletal Study Section of the National Institutes of Health, President of the Orthopedic Research Society, President of the International Society for Fracture Repair, Vice Chair for Grants of the Orthopedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF), and Chairman of both the Committee on Examinations and the Council on Research and Scientific Affairs of the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons. His awards include the Marshall R. Urist Award and the Alfred R. Shands, Jr. Award from the Orthopedic Research Society (ORS), the Distinguished Investigator Award from the ORS/OREF, the Kappa Delta Award from the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons, the Dr. Marian Ropes Physician Achievement Award from the Arthritis Foundation and the Marshall Schiff Award from the American College of Rheumatology. Dr. Einhorn is currently the Editor of JBJS Reviews. An author of more than 240 peer-reviewed articles, his career goals are dedicated to exploring the role of regenerative medicine in orthopedic surgery.